Tags

, , , , , , , ,

You know those thriller films where the person wakes up in some strange location and can’t remember how they got there or what happened to them?  And so begins the terrifying chasing/getting shot at/stumbling upon huge government secrets/discovering purpose in life plot that we all love so much.

I feel like if I was in one of those films, I’d wake up to something like this:

In a daze, I’d pick sprinkles out of my hair, wondering what had happened…

What is that smell?

Who MADE THESE?

And then, I’d begin piecing it together.  I’d remember how I was working on my essay on the freaky Irish tale Echtra Nerai and how I had begun to stress out about finishing on time…

I’d remember an inexplicable urge to go out and buy butter, eggs, and cocoa powder…

And suddenly, it would all come back to me.  Another attack of obsessive compulsive stress baking!

Jason Bourne Meets Cupcake Wars…

Clearly I’ve already lost it.

But there are cupcakes, so I can’t bring myself to care about silly things like sanity.

Vanilla Cupcakes:

  • 1/2 C unsalted butter (softened)
  • 1 C caster (superfine) sugar
  • 2 beaten eggs
  • 3/4 C self-raising flour
  • 5/8 C all purpose flour
  • 1/2 C mik
  • vanilla to taste
  1. Preheat oven to 350F/180C
  2. Cream butter and sugar until fluffy
  3. Add beaten eggs slowly
  4. Combine flours and add alternately with milk/vanilla until just combined (in about 3 to 4 parts).  Finish mixing with a spoon.
  5. Spoon into cupcake liners (I usually make about 15 total)
  6. Bake for 22-24 minutes (watch carefully!)
  7. Remove and let sit for 10 minutes before removing from pan.

Chocolate frosting:

  1. Cream 3T butter.
  2. Add 3/4 C powdered/icing sugar 1/4 at a time. Add 2T milk.
  3. Add 1/4 C cocoa powder.
  4. Add splash of vanilla.
  5. Continue adding powdered sugar until you like the consistency.

Enjoy!

