Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Today is a rainy, rainy day.  Not that misty rain that Scotland is so fond of, the sneaky rain that drifts gently sideways (rendering umbrellas useless) and softly soaks you through and through in the ten minutes it takes you to walk through town.

No, it’s genuinely a floodgates-opened-deluge sort of downpour.  I braved the rain to bear my completed essay to the Celtic Studies office.  After a long chat with my supervisor whom I ran into on my way to hand in the essay (and in whose hands my grade partially lies!), I had to walk back up the street, stop into Sainsbury’s for my groceries, and climb up to the Mile and home again.

And now I am safely ensconced in warmth and completely disinterested in going outside until the sun comes back out.

Ah, the sun.  About a week ago, there was a day pleasant and clear enough for a long walk around Holyrood Park.

I still had a few hours left on my Pride and Prejudice audiobook and I’d done enough work that week to deserve a reward.

So with the final dramatic resolution of Lydia’s elopement with the dastardly Mr Wickham and the reconciliation of our favorite romantic couple unfolding, I walked.

It was about as close to warm as Edinburgh has been these past weeks.  You could feel the sunlight touching your skin, as if the shield that winter puts up between sun’s warmth and the world had been pulled away.

I didn’t set out until 6 in the evening, but the sun doesn’t set until nearly 9 and I wanted to see a sunset.

I ended up climbing up the Salisbury Crags to get a better vantage for the glorious sunset I hoped to see.It was a couple hours away yet, but I had a view and a book to keep me company.  So I found a patch of grass in a private little slope next to the cliff’s edge, snuggled into the plushy green stuff (Scotland grows some fabulous grass – I suppose I must grudgingly thank the rain for that) and watched clouds drift by over the city.

I love how a city can feel so far and so near at the same time.  There it is, sprawled out beneath me, but I’m so far above it and beyond it, I don’t feel like I’m a part of it anymore.

It was just chilly enough to deter the average tourist from making the climb, so only the occasional runner or intrepid photographer walked by.  I felt alone, but in a good way.

And really, who can feel alone when she is eavesdropping on Lizzie giving Lady Catherine a marvelous set down?

Clouds drifted close to the horizon and the sun decided to duck behind them.  It grew instantly colder.

My little patch of grass by the cliff was shielded from most of the wind, but I could hear it picking up, getting nippier as if to match the new chill in the air.

I focused on rolling my eyes at Mrs Bennett’s self-congratulation for her eldest daughter’s engagement.

The sun was doing that fabulous thing where it bursts out over the clouds with bright daylight while simultaneously glowing with dark fiery colors beneath the clouds in a proper sunset.

I decided to walk a little further along the cliff to warm myself up. Huddling in a little grassy nook was no longer an option for staying warm.  Unfortunately the wind just got stronger the further I walked, so I ended up ducking behind some rocks to finish watching the sunset.

I was determined to enjoy the sunset, you see.

As soon as it stopped glowing quite as beautifully, I began my walk back down.  I wanted to be back on the Mile heading for home by the time it was dark.  Anyway, Lizzie was breaking the news about her engagement to her family, so I didn’t have much time left in my story.

Every time I glanced back up to the tops of those crags, I had to take just one more picture of that sky.

I walked back up High Street in the swiftly growing cold and dark, trying to let my imagination carry me away to a warm, southerly locale where Lizzie and Darcy were busy building a marvelous life together as my book finally ended.

Scotland has its sunny, (almost) warm days.  I try to make the most of every one that comes our way.  I just hope there are more ahead.  And soon!

