Tags

, , , , , ,

I just posted about my own birthday at the beginning of the month, but today is actually my littlest sibling’s birthday.  So Nathan (or Nato Potato as I call him) gets a post today too.

If you had any sort of proper childhood, you were allowed to read Calvin and Hobbes.  Calvin is the child that we all kind of wished we could be as children and very much hope we can escape having as adults.  I don’t think some of us will ever outgrow that love of a fluffy, stuffed animal for a companion, though.

I was going through old pictures the other day and as I saw one picture after another of my littlest sibling (I am one of six), Calvin came repeatedly to mind.  I think you will have to agree that my parents have, in fact, been given the terrifying and hilarious task of raising a Calvin.  So far, they seem to be doing alright.

Here are the many faces of Calvin:

Here are the many faces of my brother:

I sometimes think that this child must have been sent to us by the aliens as a prank, just to see how we would react.

So far, we mostly laugh.  Or stare in a amazement.  He says the oddest things.

.

As you can see, the resemblance to Calvin is uncanny.  The pictures in this lovely sequence were left on my computer by Nato Potato as a special surprise for me.  They were all his idea.

.

.

I have no idea what he’s going to do when he grows up (I can’t believe he’s twelve!) but I’m sure it will be interesting.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Not all of my photos of Nato are posed.  I have plenty of candid shots.  But no matter how hard I try to take him by surprise, he always has a special face prepared for the camera.

All you really need is to imagine an orange striped tiger standing beside him and a wagon ready to send flying down that impossible hill…

So happy birthday, Nato Potato.  I don’t care how old you get.  As far as I’m concerned, you, like Calvin, are going to be a goofy little kid forever.

