Tags

, , , ,

Two posts in two days?  Shocking!  Wonderful!

Don’t get used to it.

I just wanted to share a happy moment that I had.  Not surprisingly, baking was involved.  Right now, as I sit here, two of my senses are being soothed.

Rain is dripping on stone, rushing through leaves, spattering on glass.  I love the sound of rain.  The thunder is passing now, but its cantankerous rumbling and roaring came through not many minutes ago before whatever cumulonimbus giant went stumbling on to its next destination.

I love the sound of thunderstorms.  They used to scare me, as they did most other small children.  A frightening, invisible creature trying to make its way inside.  As I’ve grown older, I’ve come to love the supernatural aspects of the natural world, and storms are some of the best, in my opinion.  DSC_0009

The other sense being pleasantly assailed as I sit here is my sense of smell.  I smell peanut butter and chocolate and warm, sweet sugary buttery deliciousness.  Yes, I smell cookies.

DSC_0014During the onslaught of this storm, I decided to get rid of various pantry items with a batch of cookies.  You know when you have a little bit of a lot of things and you are just sure that they can be turned into something delicious?  I figured that a little bit of peanut butter, some oats, and some MMs were meant to be together.  So far, I think I was right.  They are cooling as I write and I think I need to go and make sure that the union was as harmonious as I hoped it would be.


DSC_0011

Thunderstorms and cookies: I think this is one of my new favorite afternoon activities.  Of course, I can’t plan for the former, but when the opportunity arises, I know what to do with it.DSC_0001

