Tags

, , ,

I just realized that I haven’t posted on this blog since last July, which is pretty ridiculous when I think about it.  Last July, the most exciting thing that had happened in a while was when I bought Sebastian, my hedgehog.

Let’s face it, that’s still pretty exciting and he’s still pretty adorable, although just as grumpy as ever.

grumpy hedgehog cat hedgehog santa hedgehogBut I should probably update my life since then.  I have done much more grown up things than buy a hedgehog (which I think is pretty grown up, but others may differ…).  I got engaged.

DSC_0185

Yayyyy!

Most immediately, that meant that I had a sparkly claddagh ring and a three-year habit of using “boyfriend” to break.  But soon thereafter, I realized that it also meant that I had to plan this mysterious, sparkling thing called a wedding.

And those are hard.

Apparently there are all sorts of rules and expectations and lots of expenses involved in weddings.  And here I thought that it was just a dress, some flowers, and a walk down the aisle.

No.  No, no, no.  There are so many things.

There was some initial panic.  Possibly some threats of elopement (the fiancé’s sworn duty is to answer “no” every time I try that).  I may or may not have cried.

But at some point I realized (with some help) that weddings are not terrible, stressful, evil things forced upon poor brides as payment for getting to wear the sparkly ring.  No, they actually can be fun.  There are just a few things that you have to do to make them fun.

I also decided that our society has some pretty lofty ideals about what is considered absolutely necessary for a wedding.  The average wedding is said to be around $26,000.  I don’t know about you, but even if I did have that kind of money, I’d rather be spending it on a house downpayment.  The fact is, expectations need to be fitted to reality, and then we need to embrace that reality and have fun with it.

So my goal is to beat the system.  If society thinks that $10,000 is a budget wedding,  I am going to do it in less.  Way less.

Waaaaaaaaaay less.

Because I am awesome.  I am an awesome engaged person with crafty skills and I can do it!

I have come to realize how many resources I already have at my disposal.  The internet in its magnitude with its helpful wedding websites (Pinterest, sweet blessed Pinterest!).  Even more amazing is the resource of people.  It didn’t take me long to discover that I had a massive resource of individuals who wanted to help.  I have parents who are not only giving us the gift of financing our super special day, but are helping me make smart choices along the way (which tablecloths?  WHICH ONES?); I have future in-laws with tons of connections and willingness to go on adventures into the (almost) wilderness to find a reception venue;  I have a church that takes the call to help one another seriously and has offered more help than I know what to do with.

I also have my bridesminions (because “bridesmaids” are so last year).  They will be my secret weapon.

So, with an army behind me, I am concocting all manner of cunning plans to beat the wedding system.

I have six months to accomplish this goal.  We’ll see how it goes…

 

